Silent Uprising

by Beneath The Lake

  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    A truly stunning follow up to their debut 2002 "Inside Passage" offering! "Silent Uprising" features five flowing & meditative compositions clocking in at 70+ minutes.

    The music of Beneath the Lake is based upon compositions of soundscapes using samplers, guitars, bass, wind instruments, organs, effect processors, and field recordings to generate sound. The concept behind the music is to create a juxtaposition between the natural world and the industrial world. With an emphasis on more melodic guitar playing and the influence of the urban landscape, the "Silent Uprising" collection invokes images of a desolate rust-belt city where industrialism has begun to decline and nature has begun the process of re-growth.

    The two members of Beneath the Lake, Nicolas Lampert and Dave Canterbury each have a long history in soundscape music. Nicolas Lampert (Milwaukee, WI) was a member of the Oakland, California based experimental-noise-punk band, NOISEGATE, from 1995-2000. During this time, NOISEGATE released two full-length recordings on the San Francisco label Tumult and toured the US and Canada extensively. Nicolas Lampert also set up numerous experimental-noise shows at the 40th St. Warehouse in Oakland, California for local and touring acts such as MERZBOW (Japan), MASONNA (Japan), ILLUSION OF SAFETY (Chicago), TRIBES OF NEUROT (Oakland), CAROLINA RAINBOW (San Francisco), UBZUB (Oakland), CRAWL UNIT (Sacramento), DEERHOF (San Francisco), THE THROWNS (Salem)

    Dave Canterbury (Black Earth, WI) has self-released numerous recordings with the experimental-noise band, WAGE CLASS SLAVE and solo ambient-drone project DUST since the early 90's. He records and engineers all of the material by Beneath the Lake and his other sound projects.

    ​Silent Uprising's central theme of the interface between a decaying and exhausted human civilization and the remorseless claims of nature is beautifully encapsulated.
    ----JUDAS KISS

    Nicolas Lampert and Dave Canterbury's follow up album to their 2002 debut disc "Inside Passage" continues their aural theme of meshing the natural as the basis of their dark ambient foray. Theirs is a pageant of forgotten memory and haunted byways, landscapes wreathed in the decay of humankind.

    ​Where their first record focused more on nature, Silent Uprising shifts the focus a bit more toward the increasing influence of the urban landscape as cities continue to encroach on nature and change the balance forever.

    Includes unlimited streaming of Silent Uprising via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ... more
    ships out within 6 days

      $13 USD or more 




Released Summer Solstice 2005. The first release featuring exclusively over sized, 6 panel gate fold packaging from the Glass Throat catalog.

"Silent Uprising" features five flowing & meditative compositions clocking in at 70+ minutes. A demanding engagement from drifting drone composers Nicolas Lampert (ex-Noisegate) & Dave Canterbury. An alchemical mixture of lulling musical melodies & dense cinematic environments. BENEATH THE LAKE embrace a forlorn melancholia of haunting, whispering memories & organic soundscapes. A beautiful album with a distant hope, forged through nature's sadness...



released June 21, 2005



all rights reserved


Glass Throat Recordings / Medicinal Musicals Washington

Welcome folks to the OFFICIAL GLASS THROAT RECORDINGS and MEDICINAL MUSICALS storefront and main website. Here you will find exclusive lossless digital formatted albums, CD's, Vinyl and Merch from the entire Glass Throat Recordings and Medicinal Musicals catalog. ... more

contact / help

Contact Glass Throat Recordings / Medicinal Musicals

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code